I recently heard a radio programme that was very moving and very interesting.  It illustrates my views on the disabled very well and goes with some of my blog posts so I thought I would share it.  It is about a child who is able to communicate only by using an alphabet board using his eyes, but boy does he communicate.  He and his parents are now campaigning for special needs education to be more meaningful and actually teach the children.  As the child himself puts it speical needs education was like ‘high end baby sitting’ for him and I can relate in some respects to that.  I found the programme inspiring, showing that you should make use of the skills you do have and not to worry about what you can’t do.  I would highly recommend people to listen to it.  Please copy and paste the link to listen.  (Sorry if you are aborad and the show will not play).

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07zxnh5 Hardeep’s Sunday Lunch series 5 ‘Song of Voice’

 

 

Leave a Reply

