Party Season

A short mini blog, a song that I have been working on in my head this week for the Christmas season

(To the tune of O0m-pah-pah from Oliver)

‘Tis the party season
Or so they always tell us
But where are all these parties
I’m blowed if I know

I bet it’s all some media invention
Of some advertisement
To get us all to buy posh frocks
We’ll never wear
I’m not invited to Christmas parties it’s true
But so is no one else that I know

The only parties I can think of
Are the Christmas work dos
And no one really likes them
Even if they say that they do

They are social nightmares
No one knows what to say
Then things get very awkward
At work the next day

I’m not invited to Christmas parties it’s true
But so is no one else that I know

I bet there’s some in London
For the swanky people
Where the plebs are not invited
It’s out of our league

They get it all done for them
By a party planner
With fancy decorations
In some matching theme

I’m not invited to Christmas parties it’s true
But so is no one else that I know

I’ve still got presents to wrap
And cards I’ve not yet written
I’ve got to buy a turkey
And put up a tree

So you can keep your Christmas parties
With the extra hassle
Ordinary people
Just don’t have the time

art_party1-420x0

One thought on “Party Season

Leave a Reply

